"Ref, that's a NET!" How often have you heard a coach, parent or spectator yelling this? All the time, right? Well, there are a lot of subtleties to this rule in club volleyball, so the yellers often don't know what they're talking about.
If your hair hits the net, does that count? Is it a violation only if you touch the top 2 inches of the net, or do you get whistled for contact with any part of the net? How about if you hit the net with your back after you've landed from an attack?
All of those questions and more are answered here by Brennan Dean, director at Wave Volleyball in Del Mar, California and head coach at Torrey Pines High School.